Getting Through Rough Patches

Did you ever have one of those days? Weeks? Even months? You know the kind, it seems that everything is going wrong or at the bare minimum…everything could be a lot better. I refer to these as rough patches. We’ve been in the middle of a current rough patch, one that I’m hoping will turn around soon. I know it’s necessary to have rough patches in order to enjoy the smooth road. Sometimes it’s hard.

The least of the worries are financial. Unexpected car repair (the kind that involves 2 tow trucks, 3 days in the garage and a small fortune), unexpected home repair (a few days of delays in a remodel and another small fortune), and daily concerns such as the price of gas and tuition payments.

The middle of the road worries included back problems for both my husband and I, a sick daughter and a scare with our dog (see post “worried about our girl”).

The big worries. Or should I say worry. Mortality. We have had the deaths of several friends and/or acquaintances enter our rough patch in the last several weeks, along with a handful of  illnesses. My husband, while on the job, (he’s a probation officer) was involved in a scenario in which a young man shot himself. My mother and mother-in-law are showing signs of aging, which not only scares us, but petrifies them. All of this of course makes us reflect not only on their mortality, but also on our own. Big worries.

In order to work through a rough patch, I find it helpful to focus on beauty, hope and the everyday “good” in life. Each day is filled with wonderful things, there are just times we forget to look for them. Holding hands with your spouse, the laugh of your child, the beauty of nature, the smile of a stranger, the feel of the wind on your face, the antics of a squirrel. Sometimes you just have to take a deep breath and refocus. Our days on this planet are too short to be consumed with “what ifs”, negativity and “maybes”.

A few days ago, my husband, our dog and I took a walk around the property on our farm. The air had just the right amount of “nip” to it and the sun was starting to get low in the sky. The lighting among the trees was amazing. The leaves were still crunching under our feet and our thirteen year old dog romped like she was a puppy. Also on that day, we were still in some pain, my husband’s truck broke down on the way home from the farm (tow truck number 1) and our dog ended up not able to climb the steps after she overdid the physical activity. That is not what I’m going to remember. When I look back on that day, here is what I’ll see:

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

So when you’re in the middle of a rough patch, take the time to enhance and preserve the positive, really feel the hand that is holding yours, call a long-lost friend just to hear their voice, watch your pet’s face as you slowly scratch their head, gaze into your child’s eyes and see their flecks of soul or simply wrap your hands around a hot cup of cocoa and concentrate on how it warms your body as you drink it.

Rough patches are just that … patches. They will pass. But while they’re here, we can help them make less of an impact on our lives by refocusing. The refocusing will eventually lead to recharging. Can’t we all use a recharge every now and then?

About finefrugality

I am a wife, mother, business owner, farmer, foster parent, retired probation officer and so much more. :-) I love to save money any way I can. I just don’t see the sense in handing my cash over to someone else when I don’t have to. I coupon, I grow and can food, I reuse and repurpose items, I scour thrift stores and during the warmer months, my Saturday mornings consist of yard sales and our local farmer’s market with my husband. I have organized local meetings which include coupon swaps, barter clubs and swap meets. Here is where I begin to share this life with the rest of the world. This is Fine Frugality. Because being frugal is not only fine. It is FINE.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Getting Through Rough Patches

  1. lisa white says:

    Thank you.. i really needed this… between car still acting up and toilets not working and the day to day stresses.. this helped.. thank you 🙂 i can always count on you to somehow make me see things a little differently…

    • I’m glad it helped. Just writing things down always helps me. That’s one of the reasons I’m back to blogging. Documenting even the smallest of life’s adventures seem to help uplift me. Stay strong my friend. 🙂

  2. Gawd your good !!!! I too really needed a hug from you today…and I got it in your blog 🙂 love and miss you…. keep it up… you found your “thing” !!!!!

  3. You’ve become such a lovely writer Ms. Vicki and quite a philosopher , too. You’re like a ray of sunshine on a cloudy day …. luv youuuuu

    PS. When you’ve finished turning that broken crystal goblet into a votive light you could REGIFT it back to me … “just sayin” ….

  4. What a lovely post! We’re going through quite a rough patch at the moment – mostly financial – although my husband’s mother just died and will be buried tomorrow, so that tops the list of rough stuff for us at the moment. Your post made me stop and remember that there are good things, too. I can just imagine the puppyish spring in your dog’s step 🙂

    • I am so sorry to hear of the passing of your mother-in-law, and I completely understand the financial rough patch. Who wouldn’t in this economy? I try very hard to seek out good, beautiful or calming things in each day. It helps keeps me a little more balanced. 🙂

Leave a Reply

