Monday = Grocery Shopping

Mondays are the beginning of our week, so what better way to start the week than a stocked fridge? That’s one reason that I do my grocery shopping on Mondays, but to be honest…it’s also the day I can find the best deals. Meats are marked down after the weekends, clearance shelves are being stocked and baked goods are discounted. If I shop after a holiday weekend…even better! I use coupons and match them up with sales. I am NOT an extreme couponer by any stretch of the imagination. I just don’t like to give my money away. My goal is to save between 40% and 50% each and every week.

In our area we are very limited as far as grocery shopping goes. We have two Weis stores and one Super Walmart. We can also pick up some items at our Dollar General stores and we have a Dollar Tree.

Today, I visited both Weis stores. I like them both for different reasons. One of them is hardly ever crowded and can have some super marked down meats. It’s downfall is that it doesn’t carry organic produce. The second one does indeed carry organic produce and has a better clearance section, but is often crowded. So what’s a girl to do? Go to both!

My grocery budget is $60 per week. With that, not only do I feed three of us here at home and make lunches for my husband to take to work, but I usually end up with at least a little wiggle room for a few pantry items as well. Once per month I give myself an extra $5 – $10 to specifically purchase some things for the pantry. I have been grabbing a lot from the pantry lately, so I really need to concentrate on it again.

Here’s what I purchased today:

The breakdown:

Meats: 4 chicken leg quarters, 1.14 lbs. of 96% lean ground beef, a 4.41 pound pork roast and a package of summer sausage.

Dairy: 2 packages of Cracker Barrel reduced fat cheese, 1 container lowfat sour cream and one Natural Bliss creamer. We already have milk, so not necessary today.

Fruits and Veggies: 3 lbs clementines, 3 lbs Bosc pears, 4 lbs onions, organic celery hearts, organic baby mixed greens and a small head of red leaf lettuce.

Breads: 2 loaves Sara Lee whole grain white bread, one package Chi-Chi’s whole wheat tortillas.

Canned/boxed: 4 cans Progresso soup, 4 cans generic gravy, 2 cans Furmano tomatoes, 4 cans Dole fruit, 2 jars mincemeat, 1 jar Chi-Chi’s salsa, 3 pouches of tuna, 1 jar Hunt’s spaghetti sauce, 1 can generic baked beans, 1 box of gingerbread tea bags and a 4-pack of pudding.

Misc: (1) 200-count package coffee filters, 1 box of garbage bags.

I think I covered it all!

It was a great day to choose to spend the extra money to stock the pantry! Here are two of the best deals that I was able to grab today:

This chicken had a $2 peelie on it, bringing the price down to $1.57. Yay!  The Knorr soup was just ridiculously priced low!

 

 

 

 

 

Alright….ready for the numbers? 

Total prices ~ $134.02

Total Spent ~ $63.85

Total Saved ~ $79.67 (59% savings)

I am very happy indeed. Most of the canned items, the coffee filters, the tea, the soup mix and the salad dressings will go into the pantry. One of these days I’ll show you my pantry and the thinking behind it.

So this week, it looks like we’ll be dining on chicken, pulled pork sammies, tacos or hamburgers, a pasta dish, and … who knows!

As you can see from the items that I purchased, you CAN eat well on a budget. So go…save…eat.

About finefrugality

I am a wife, mother, business owner, farmer, foster parent, retired probation officer and so much more. :-) I love to save money any way I can. I just don’t see the sense in handing my cash over to someone else when I don’t have to. I coupon, I grow and can food, I reuse and repurpose items, I scour thrift stores and during the warmer months, my Saturday mornings consist of yard sales and our local farmer’s market with my husband. I have organized local meetings which include coupon swaps, barter clubs and swap meets. Here is where I begin to share this life with the rest of the world. This is Fine Frugality. Because being frugal is not only fine. It is FINE.
This entry was posted in Grocery Savings and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Monday = Grocery Shopping

  1. Awesome shopping trip! A 59% savings is nothing to sneeze at, you more than doubled your money in savings. GOOD JOB GIRL! Keep sharing!
    Patti

  2. Thanks Patti!
    That’s a little over average for me. It was a good week! 🙂

Leave a Reply

