Hamper Turned Storage

While cleaning out our rec room (or maybe the attic?) I came across this old, small hamper that used to be in my daughter’s room when she was a baby. (She’s now a sophomore in college). It is certainly too small to use as a hamper for big people clothes, but I didn’t want to see it sitting in a landfill somewhere.

I know, ugly right? You may or may not know this, but spray paint is my secret tool. I’ll spray anything if it stays still long enough. I’ve also been on another green kick, so naturally I grabbed the celery/limey green color and went to town.

The lid is made up of a very thin layer of cushion covered by crunchy plastic-y kind of material and didn’t hold the paint well. So into the farm I go on a hunt. (This was done at our second home “the farm”) We don’t keep a lot of supplies at the farm due to it being an old farmhouse with minimal storage, but I was able to come up with several fabric options:

I chose the one on top of the pile. I then unscrewed the hinged lid, cut out a piece of that tablecloth (another love of mine…vintage tablecloths) and simply covered up the lid with the fabric by cutting the fabric about 3 inches wider and longer than the lid and then stapling the fabric to the inside of the lid. Hint: Make sure you’re pulling the fabric tight before each and every staple so it is taut. Any staples that didn’t go in all the way…well, I took care of that with my trusty hammer!

 

 

 

 

 

 

I then screwed the hinge back on to the lid, attached it to the base and there you have it!

My new hamper  potting soil storage unit! It’s the perfect size. I can keep about 3 bags of potting soil in there and not worry about the bags tipping over, spilling etc. I’m quite pleased. So don’t throw away that old hamper, ottoman, filing cabinet or anything else until you see if you can’t transform it into something that you love again. If you need any spray paint, I’m your girl!

About finefrugality

I am a wife, mother, business owner, farmer, foster parent, retired probation officer and so much more. :-) I love to save money any way I can. I just don’t see the sense in handing my cash over to someone else when I don’t have to. I coupon, I grow and can food, I reuse and repurpose items, I scour thrift stores and during the warmer months, my Saturday mornings consist of yard sales and our local farmer’s market with my husband. I have organized local meetings which include coupon swaps, barter clubs and swap meets. Here is where I begin to share this life with the rest of the world. This is Fine Frugality. Because being frugal is not only fine. It is FINE.
This entry was posted in Repurpose Ideas and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Hamper Turned Storage

Leave a Reply

