Surprise Deliveries

I don’t know about you, but I tend to make everyone I know aware of that fact that I’m on the hunt for a specific item (or items). Last year, I announced on Facebook that I was looking for empty wine bottles for a garden project. No lie, every week I was finding more and more on my front porch. One of my friends even had a daughter who was a bartender and was saving them for me. (I refer to her as the bottle fairy)

Anyway….I was again in need of something for a project this past summer. I was in search of old dishes to make mosaic pavers for the garden. I didn’t post this one on FB (In retrospect…uh…why???), but I did let my mother and my aunt know. You see, my mother and my aunt are two of a kind. They tend to “collect” things. A lot of things. They then have great difficulty letting those things go. I eventually got my mother to hand over a small box of dishes, and she started to trinkle some my way ever since. On a visit with my aunt, she gave me two plates. Two out of the two thousand that she owns. Baby steps, always baby steps.

A few days ago, I noticed a small box on my porch. Inside was a bag with a small vintage bowl and a beautiful crystal goblet (broken, but beautiful). I had no idea where it came from until I saw the shipping tag with my aunt’s name on it. (I believe she shall now be dubbed the pottery elf) I have to say, I was extremely proud of her, not just for remembering that I had requested these items six months ago, but for actually letting them go.

As I admired the pieces, I fell in love with the design on the goblet and the way it reflected light. I decided that it would be spared. Given the fact that only the stem is broken, I will probably attempt to make a votive holder out of it at some point. The bowl made me smile. I enjoy finding great stamps on dishes and looking at the intricate designs. I’m hoping that I can salvage the stamp in order to incorporate it into one of the mosaics this year.

I love the fact that I have people in my life that think of me now and then. It makes my heart soar to know that I am linked to such caring individuals that will take time out of their lives to share some of their overabundance of treasures. I have been lucky enough to be blessed with a bottle fairy, a pecan pixie, a pear sprite and now a pottery elf. Thank you for being in my life. You sprinkle happiness into my world just by being the wonderful people that you are.

P.S. Isn’t it lovely how the bowl design can be imaged so delicately through the goblet?

Sorry. As you will soon learn, there are times that I am very easily distracted. :-/

 

About finefrugality

I am a wife, mother, business owner, farmer, foster parent, retired probation officer and so much more. :-) I love to save money any way I can. I just don’t see the sense in handing my cash over to someone else when I don’t have to. I coupon, I grow and can food, I reuse and repurpose items, I scour thrift stores and during the warmer months, my Saturday mornings consist of yard sales and our local farmer’s market with my husband. I have organized local meetings which include coupon swaps, barter clubs and swap meets. Here is where I begin to share this life with the rest of the world. This is Fine Frugality. Because being frugal is not only fine. It is FINE.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

