Clean The Fridge Meal

In a lot of families, Sundays mean big sit-down meals. Not at our house. Sunday’s are always a “picking” day. We eat whatever is left in the fridge and “pick” at food most of the day. It’s always been that way. My mother never made a big meal on Sunday, so I never jumped on that band wagon either.

Anyway, given that I am one to try to use everything and leave little waste, Sunday is a great day to use up the scraps in the fridge. Today we had a wonderful creation! The idea came when I saw this post over at Seasaltwithfood.com. The idea was to fill a baguette with an egg and meat mixture and then bake until eggs are done. The seed was planted.

I took two pepper and fennel sub rolls that were left from hubby’s lunch fixins, two small leftover cooked and seasoned flank steaks, four eggs (a combination of chicken and duck eggs that I bartered from my dear friend Rebecca), a smidgen of milk and some parmesan cheese.

I made a “boat” out of the sub rolls by cutting off the top and digging out some of the innards. I don’t know why I used the words innards, I don’t think I’ve ever spoken that word before in my life….

I whisked the eggs, milk and a couple of shakes of the parmesan cheese together. I would have added some cheddar if I would have remembered to bring it (we were at our farm for the day), but parmesan was what I had.

I then lined my “boats” with the sliced flank steak and added some hot peppers (from last year’s garden) to hubby’s creation. You’ve heard that hot peppers are good for circulation and a good heart? If that’s the case, that man has the pumper of a 20 year old! So I then poured the egg mixture on top of the steaks and into the boats, sprinkled with some extra parmesan and baked in a 350 oven for about 30 -35 minutes.

Here’s the result:

Yeah, they were pretty fabulous. I only have two recommendations if you try this at home. First, pour the egg mixture into the boats before you put them on the baking sheet. Mine stuck due to the overflow. And second, make one for me and invite me to lunch. I WILL be making them again and will experiment with all sorts of yummies. The possibilities are endless! Who knew cleaning out the fridge could be so rewarding?

P.S. Of course, I took the scooped out parts of the sub rolls, put them into a jar and they went directly into the freezer until I can make some very flavorful bread crumbs out of them!

About finefrugality

I am a wife, mother, business owner, farmer, foster parent, retired probation officer and so much more. :-) I love to save money any way I can. I just don’t see the sense in handing my cash over to someone else when I don’t have to. I coupon, I grow and can food, I reuse and repurpose items, I scour thrift stores and during the warmer months, my Saturday mornings consist of yard sales and our local farmer’s market with my husband. I have organized local meetings which include coupon swaps, barter clubs and swap meets. Here is where I begin to share this life with the rest of the world. This is Fine Frugality. Because being frugal is not only fine. It is FINE.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Clean The Fridge Meal

  1. Mandy says:

    We did that growing up. Well, my mom would usually make something for lunch, but never a big meal. Sunday night, after getting home from church it was fend for yourselves. We always had leftovers. I do that with my family too, though my kids are too young to fend for themselves, so I just pull together leftovers to make a meal.

  2. I just love this post! I too am prone to scavenge for leftovers in order to create a meal rather than cook more food to store in the fridge. One thing I had not thought about until reading your post was storing left over bread items in the freezer. What a great idea. Thank you so much for sharing, you have just gained a new fan. Have a wonderful day, and keep on sharing!
    Patti

  3. Mandy…I have to admit, I prefer it this way! Sunday is meant to be a day of rest. 🙂

    Patti…Thank you so much for your kind comments. I’m really glad you enjoyed the post. All of my bread ends, scraps, etc are either made into bread crumbs (or croutons) at the time, or popped into the freezer until they can be transformed. We love all kinds of breads (sometimes not so great for the waistline!), which can make for some pretty diverse bread crumbs! hahaha BTW…you have a new fan too. 🙂

Leave a Reply

