Homemade Fabric Softener

Here’s a simple “recipe” that I use to make homemade fabric softener. It takes all of about 2 minutes to whip up and is so much cheaper than store bought. This is all you’ll need:

A large bowl, measuring cups, a whisk, white vinegar, hair conditioner and water. That’s it! In the large bowl, add the 3 ingredients in this order: water, vinegar then conditioner. Not only does it seem to mix better when you do it in this order, but you can also be amused by what seems to be jellyfish floating in your bowl. 🙂

Gently whisk the ingredients together. If you whisk too vigorously, it will foam up on you. You only want everything to incorporate together with no big clumps…like this…

Now funnel it into an old fabric softener container that you have saved. Don’t shake, remember the foam:

You can now use it in your washing machine as you would store bought fabric softener. What I love about this is that the vinegar leaves your machine smelling clean all the time. No more funky smell if you happen to forget a load overnight. You have the vinegar AND the hair conditioner acting together as softeners and both also leave a great, clean smell to your laundry. I’ve used several different kinds of conditioner with almost equal results. So when you can get the cheapo conditioner on sale, or you have a coupon…stock up! I just made almost a gallon of fabric softener for about $.87. Here’s the full recipe. Enjoy! And let me know how it works out for you!

P.S. You should always type up and print out the recipes on your homemade concoctions. Attach them to the container and you’ll never be searching for them!

Enjoy the day that is today. 🙂

About finefrugality

I am a wife, mother, business owner, farmer, foster parent, retired probation officer and so much more. :-) I love to save money any way I can. I just don’t see the sense in handing my cash over to someone else when I don’t have to. I coupon, I grow and can food, I reuse and repurpose items, I scour thrift stores and during the warmer months, my Saturday mornings consist of yard sales and our local farmer’s market with my husband. I have organized local meetings which include coupon swaps, barter clubs and swap meets. Here is where I begin to share this life with the rest of the world. This is Fine Frugality. Because being frugal is not only fine. It is FINE.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Homemade Fabric Softener

  1. Angell says:

    H!

    Thank you so much for commenting on my frugal blog list post. I have added you to my list here:
    http://passionateandcreativehomemaking.blogspot.com/2012/02/frugal-blogs.html. And I also let my followers on facebook know about it! I hope you do well with your new blog! I just signed up for your emails 🙂

  2. Thanks so much Angell, I really appreciate it! I’m following you as well. 🙂

  3. Pingback: Some Of My Favorite Money Saving Tips ~ Household | Fine Frugality

Leave a Reply

