An Easy Year-Long Savings Plan ~ Christmas Fund for 2013?

This plan is genius. It’s easy to follow and very manageable. I originally saw it on Pinterest and found it to be more reliable than, for instance, the $5 Plan (saving every 5 dollar bill you get). If you follow this simple plan, you know how much money you’ll have at the end of the year (or however long your you decide to do it), which in turn helps you budget where that money will go. I plan to use mine for Christmas 2013.

As you can see, on Week 1 you put away $1. On week 2, $2 and so on. It’s a nice, gradual savings plan that enables you to plan ahead. And what do you have at the end of it all? Well you have $1,378.00, that’s what you have! That is way more than I will need for Christmas, so the rest will go towards my end-of-year taxes. Yay!

savings

What is your overall game plan to save money? Traditional Christmas funds, envelope method, change in a jar or do you just stuff random bills under your mattress? :-)

P.S. I tried to follow the post on Pinterest to the original poster, however it lead me to a forum, not the original site. So whoever you are…thanks for this great savings plan!

About finefrugality

I am a wife, mother, business owner, farmer, foster parent, retired probation officer and so much more. :-) I love to save money any way I can. I just don’t see the sense in handing my cash over to someone else when I don’t have to. I coupon, I grow and can food, I reuse and repurpose items, I scour thrift stores and during the warmer months, my Saturday mornings consist of yard sales and our local farmer’s market with my husband. I have organized local meetings which include coupon swaps, barter clubs and swap meets. Here is where I begin to share this life with the rest of the world. This is Fine Frugality. Because being frugal is not only fine. It is FINE.
This entry was posted in Money Saving Ideas and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

