You Have Not Won Yet Grasshopper!

Over the weekend, I pulled the last of the garlic, a few surviving beets and some of the onions. We had to clear some beds that were eaten by grasshoppers (turnip greens, beans and beets). Grrrrrrrr. My husband stopped by the farm yesterday to water the garden (STILL no rain!) and informed me that the squash bugs have won the war on the zucchini plants as well. I am quite angry.

When we started a garden, we decided that we would only grow things organically. And we have stuck to that. It’s important to us. But I can also see why people get frustrated and end up spraying their plants to prevent devastation in the garden. It’s double hard for us since we don’t live where we garden and the garden is in the middle of the country where bugs throw ginormous parties. We have tried Neem oil, insecticidal soap, hot pepper spray, garlic spray and flour at the base of the plants. I could literally hear the bugs laughing at me at each application. Nothing worked.

We have decided that despite the short period of good garden weather remaining, we’re going to try to squeeze in some new plantings this weekend. We have nothing to lose. I purchased some screening and will attempt to keep the invaders out that way.

I am thankful for what we have so far, which is two full beds of onions, garlic, lettuces, five kinds of peppers, mint, radishes, some turnips, a few beets and some beans. The tomatoes, cucumbers, cantaloupe and watermelon and doing fine (fingers crossed) and the peanut plants seem to be thriving. The potatoes appear to be ok too.

The onions that I pulled are curing on the porch and I plowed through all of the garlic in order to preserve it. What I do is clean and peel all of the garlic, mince it (I use my coffee grinder) and put it in jars. I then cover the minced garlic in extra virgin olive oil and freeze it. Due to the oil, it never really freezes solid, so I can just scoop out what I need and plop it right into the pan. Works out well for me. Otherwise, you can dehydrate it, use it to make sauces or even just freeze it whole. Whatever works for you.

 

 

 

 

 

I’ll let you know how the new plantings work out. It’s a long shot, but one I’m willing to take. Look out grasshoppers, squash bugs and aphids…this is war!

About finefrugality

I am a wife, mother, business owner, farmer, foster parent, retired probation officer and so much more. :-) I love to save money any way I can. I just don’t see the sense in handing my cash over to someone else when I don’t have to. I coupon, I grow and can food, I reuse and repurpose items, I scour thrift stores and during the warmer months, my Saturday mornings consist of yard sales and our local farmer’s market with my husband. I have organized local meetings which include coupon swaps, barter clubs and swap meets. Here is where I begin to share this life with the rest of the world. This is Fine Frugality. Because being frugal is not only fine. It is FINE.
This entry was posted in Gardening and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to You Have Not Won Yet Grasshopper!

  1. Little Sis says:

    It IS high bug season, isn’t it. I’ve seen more little devils hopping around than I could imagine and every time I go out I get eaten alive. Just keep swimming, just keep swimming. It’ll turn so long as we don’t give up, right? Good luck.

    • I’m told that they are over populated the last two years because of the mild winters. You can hear them jumping throughout the garden. It’s terrible! But swim I will and never give up! I’ll let you know how we make out. Thanks!

  2. Your onions look amazing! Also, that’s a super clever way to ‘can’ your garlic. How long does it last like that?

    • Easily a year. I usually run out about the time we harvest the next batch. :-)

      • What keeps it from going off? Is it the freezer?

      • I’m sure it is. The oil doesn’t go rancid and the garlic stays fresh tasting. I’ve been doing it this way for a few years now and it works great every time. Not sure of the science, but I can only assume it’s the deep freeze. Give it a shot with a small jar, or a few ice cube sections. I like to do it because even though it’s labor intensive and tedious for a few days…I don’t have to buy garlic all year and it’s ready when I need it. Start some small and see if it may work for you. If you do, let me know how you make out!

      • :D That sounds great! I hope garlic goes on sale sometime soon :D :D

  3. Often Chickens can be a very valuable asset in cases like this. But from personal experience you do not want big (regular) sized chickens in your garden, as they will cause more damage than the bugs often. But banty (small) chickens can be a great asset. You probably don’t want them in your garden all the time either, but you can let them loose in the garden on a regular basis without the worry of them mowing down your plants. They will have a great time hunting out the pests for you!

    • Oh Stacey…if only! Right now, we do not actually live on the farm where we plant. It is our second home, where we spend our weekends. But chickens are high on my “must have” list when I finally live full time in that farmer’s paradise. :-)

Leave a Reply

