The BLT ~ With Super Powers

I am a big fan of the BLT and would love to shake the hand of whoever the genius was behind putting together this magical combination. A few weeks ago, I had a BLT craving. After I got home from the grocery store, I realized that I forgot to pick up tomatoes. It didn’t surprise me. I don’t go near the tomatoes at the grocery store, with the exception of maybe a pint of grape tomatoes every few months. I don’t like grocery store tomatoes at all, but a craving was a craving!

It was raining. I didn’t want to go back outside. So after I pouted, I decided to raid the fridge and cupboards to see what else I could come up with. And there it was. A jar of canned green tomatoes from our garden last year. Hmmmmm….I didn’t want to use them as-is due to the slightly squishy state of canned tomatoes. LIGHTBULB! I will fry them!

So here’s what I did:

BAD picture alert!! I didn’t think to take pictures until halfway started, so there are some grab and click moments.

 

 

 

 

The green tomatoes that I canned were already sliced, so no work there. I mixed up a small egg wash and grabbed some bread crumbs from the freezer. Dipped the tomatoes into the egg wash and coated them with the bread crumbs. I then fried them in some garlic infused olive oil until the breading was crispy on both sides. (Drained on paper towels to soak up excess grease and keep the crunch) I then thought “hey, I’m already cranking it up a notch, let’s go all the way” and mixed up a blue cheese mayo. (Light mayo, blue cheese, fresh ground pepper and a sprinkling of fresh parsley) Oh yeah baby! I then toasted some whole wheat bread (at least there was one healthy item….wait….there’s lettuce too! It’s practically Weight Watchers worthy…not) and started to stack my ingredients high. Here’s what it looked like after completion:

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

My husband actually uttered the words “Oh my God” after his first bite. He then said “I hope this is one of those times you can remember what you did so you can make it again”. Don’t worry honey, this one is saved in the hard drive!

This is my idea of a decadent meal. Something cheesy, salty and crunchy. I recommend only indulging every once in a while, but I’m definitely keeping this one on the Fat Friday rotation. It is deliciously yummy.

About finefrugality

I am a wife, mother, business owner, farmer, foster parent, retired probation officer and so much more. :-) I love to save money any way I can. I just don’t see the sense in handing my cash over to someone else when I don’t have to. I coupon, I grow and can food, I reuse and repurpose items, I scour thrift stores and during the warmer months, my Saturday mornings consist of yard sales and our local farmer’s market with my husband. I have organized local meetings which include coupon swaps, barter clubs and swap meets. Here is where I begin to share this life with the rest of the world. This is Fine Frugality. Because being frugal is not only fine. It is FINE.
This entry was posted in Frugal Meals, Recipes and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to The BLT ~ With Super Powers

  1. msmckibbon says:

    This looks sooooooooooooo delish! I’m gluten-free but I can just imagine the tomatoes fried with cornmeal and the whole thing being eaten sans bread with fork and knife!

  2. amy b. says:

    Ok… we MUST have BLT’s this weekend. I saw a recipe earlier today made with a fried egg so I already had BLT’s on the brain. Looks wonderful~

  3. Gorgeous sandwich! I could totally dig in to that one!

Leave a Reply

