Let’s Make Red Beet Eggs

This is a recipe for good ol’ Pennsylvania Dutch Red Beet Eggs. They are delicious on salads or standing alone. They also make a great potluck dish that is inexpensive and colorful. Here we go…

This is what you will need:

  • 1 can (around 15 ounces) of red beets ~ sliced or chopped (make sure to reserve the juice)
  • 1 dozen hard boiled eggs
  • 2/3 cup sugar
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1/4 tsp black pepper
  • 1/2 cup apple cider vinegar
  • 1 1/2 cup reserved beet juice (add water to make 1 1/2 cups if you don’t have enough)
  • 1/2 medium onion, sliced (optional)

Divide half of the can of beets into two quart mason jars (or similar sized containers). Mix together the sugar, salt, pepper, cider vinegar and beet juice. Whisk until sugar dissolves.

 

 

 

 

Put 6 hard boiled eggs into each jar. Insert the onion slices (if using) along the sides of the jars. I love to use onions in mine, they take on a deep pickled taste and a beautiful pink color. Divide the remaining beets between the two jars. Pour the liquid mix evenly into both jars.

Note: you may not have enough liquid to fill both jars, but add the liquid evenly between the jars, then add water to cover the eggs.

Refrigerate the jars for at least 24 hours, but 48 is even better. You are now ready to enjoy this Pennsylvania Dutch classic treat.

Note: This picture was taken after 24 hours. The longer they sit, the deeper red the color of the eggs.

 

About finefrugality

I am a wife, mother, business owner, farmer, foster parent, retired probation officer and so much more. :-) I love to save money any way I can. I just don’t see the sense in handing my cash over to someone else when I don’t have to. I coupon, I grow and can food, I reuse and repurpose items, I scour thrift stores and during the warmer months, my Saturday mornings consist of yard sales and our local farmer’s market with my husband. I have organized local meetings which include coupon swaps, barter clubs and swap meets. Here is where I begin to share this life with the rest of the world. This is Fine Frugality. Because being frugal is not only fine. It is FINE.
This entry was posted in Frugal Meals, Recipes and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Let’s Make Red Beet Eggs

  1. cornusella says:

    Love this. reminds me of hard-boiled eggs in borscht. And my daughter might even eat eggs if they are pink!

  2. erzetisme says:

    woow, that’s truly beautiful. I would like to try it at home, but it’s difficult to find beet in my region, can I use something else like dragonfruit, carrot, or jalapeno? Will the taste will be different?

    • The taste would be completely different. If you like hot peppers, you may want to try simply putting the hard boiled eggs into the jars, filling with white vinegar and adding hot peppers and dry crushed red peppers. The color doesn’t look all that great, but you can have hot pepper eggs! Carrots would not give the same flavor as beets, but it might be an interesting substitute. I just may try that!
      If it’s the color you’re after, you can always add a few drops of coloring to your pepper eggs…let me know if you try it? I’ll be interested to see what you come up with!

  3. Little Sis says:

    I went to college in central PA, and any establishment worth being in had a big jar of these on the counter. Yum.

  4. I’ve never even heard of these before. They look delicious! I think I’m gonna have to try it. My chickens are laying right now so I have loads of eggs. Thanks for posting!
    Beth

Leave a Reply

