Share Your Dryer Lint

Each time I empty my dryer’s lint filter, I deposit the lint into an old ice cream bucket with a lid. In my opinion, it helps keep the room less dusty. When the bucket is full, it’s time to do something with all of that lint. Here is just one thing you can do…help your feathered friends build their nests.

Simply take an empty suet feeder (or empty onion bag) and fill it semi-loosely with dryer lint. Make sure some is poking out a little through the holes.

Then hang your creation in your yard or garden. The birds will be happy to use the lint to help make their nests. I hung mine on a tree in our backyard that we had already placed two bird houses on. If you’re not feeling very crafty, or are low on energy,  just tuck clumps of the dryer lint into bushes and around hedges. The birds will find it!

Some other things you can do with dryer lint: make fire starters, use as stuffing for a draft stopper, make homemade paper or make your own clay. You can find directions on how to do any of those projects online.

So be a good sharer like your momma taught you. The neighborhood birds will thank you.

About finefrugality

I am a wife, mother, business owner, farmer, foster parent, retired probation officer and so much more. :-) I love to save money any way I can. I just don’t see the sense in handing my cash over to someone else when I don’t have to. I coupon, I grow and can food, I reuse and repurpose items, I scour thrift stores and during the warmer months, my Saturday mornings consist of yard sales and our local farmer’s market with my husband. I have organized local meetings which include coupon swaps, barter clubs and swap meets. Here is where I begin to share this life with the rest of the world. This is Fine Frugality. Because being frugal is not only fine. It is FINE.
This entry was posted in DIY and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Share Your Dryer Lint

  1. CultFit says:

    If you go camping dryer lint is an excellent fire starter. The robins are busy out in the backyard…looks like they need some dryer lint. Thanks for the tip.

  2. christine says:

    I will never throw out another speck of lint! Awesome idea. My parents do the same with the mounds of fur they comb out of their giant golden retriever.

  3. Great idea! I often ponder the large pile of lint I amass on laundry day and think there must be a good use for it. Problem solved.

  4. I’ve tried the fire starters and I’ve made a felted dryer ball from lint, but I never thought of paper or clay. Hmm. Wonder if it could make beads in the same way as paper pulp… (goes off to experiment)

  5. That is SUCH a great idea! I never thought of it before. Starting today (or the next time we run our dryer, which is less often during line-dry season) we’ll be saving for our backyard buddies.

  6. Steph. says:

    I have the most awesome songbirds in my little backyard and I recently found the most adorable tiny nest. I will definitely do this. I think you can also compost dryer lint. Thanks for the tip! Steph at Balanced Style

  7. You really shouldn’t use dryer lint as a potential nest material. If it gets wet it will dry like cement, which is no good if it’s in a nest. This is such a wonderful spring project-though string, cotton balls and such are much better!!

    • I have to disagree with you on that one Jennifer. The lint in the feeder has been wet a few times after some rain and dries right out. Perhaps the key is to fluff it out before putting it out?

Leave a Reply

