Easy Crockpot Pepperoncini Beef

This recipe is amazing. And easy. And everyone will praise your awesomeness when you serve it. They will have no idea that you really didn’t “cook” anything. You dumped. You dumped 3 ingredients into a crockpot. Well, I guess you did put the lid on. And press the button.

Our grocery had London Broils on sale this week (Buy One, Get One Free). So I was able to pick up two for around 9 bucks. Here are the steps to your new “known for” recipe:

Ingredients:

  • 2 small (1 – 1 1/2 lb) cuts of London Broil ~ or you can use one large
  • 1 jar of pepperoncini peppers ~ chop the peppers and use the juice
  • 1/2 to 1 packet of onion soup mix (or make your own)

Put all ingredients into the crockpot. (Don’t forget to use the juice in the pepper jar!)

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Cook on low anywhere from 8 to 11 hours. Cook until the meat shreds apart easily. You can check in on it at 8 hours, but keep cooking until the meat is ready to fall apart. This is what it will look like after it’s all shredded:

What a great way to cook this lesser-loved cut of meat. The juice from the peppers helps tenderize the meat and cooking it slowly gives everything a chance to warp into the foundation of the best sandwiches ever known to mankind. (Ok, neck-in-neck with my ultimate fave, the Rueben sandwich) The peppers have just a hint of zing and really add to the over all yumminess. These sandwiches are made every year and taken with my husband to the hunting cabin, at the insistence of his fellow hunters.

The aroma when the meat is cooking is divine. Although I haven’t strayed from this version, I’ll bet some substitutions would work. If you like it extra spicy, add jalapenos instead of pepperoncini. You could use beef broth instead of the juice from the peppers, or maybe ranch dressing mix? We all love this one so much, that I doubt I will ever mix it up, but by all means..do what YOU will love. And then share. With me. What? Someone needs to be the assigned taste tester!

About finefrugality

I am a wife, mother, business owner, farmer, foster parent, retired probation officer and so much more. :-) I love to save money any way I can. I just don’t see the sense in handing my cash over to someone else when I don’t have to. I coupon, I grow and can food, I reuse and repurpose items, I scour thrift stores and during the warmer months, my Saturday mornings consist of yard sales and our local farmer’s market with my husband. I have organized local meetings which include coupon swaps, barter clubs and swap meets. Here is where I begin to share this life with the rest of the world. This is Fine Frugality. Because being frugal is not only fine. It is FINE.
This entry was posted in Frugal Meals, Recipes and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Easy Crockpot Pepperoncini Beef

  1. My kind of recipe – except I don’t think I’ve ever seen pepperoncini peppers – in or out of a jar. Must not be a rural Canadian thing.

  2. janetchung says:

    I love crockpot recipes so I’m going to look forward to trying this!

  3. Stacey says:

    Do the peppers make it very spicy???

    • Most of the time, no. There are of course those times that you get a batch with more zing. You could easily use half the jar of peppers and beef broth instead of the pepper juice. I think it would be yummy!

  4. Reva anson says:

    I add beef base and a package of Zesty Italian dressing mix and put cut slices of fresh garlic into the beef. Crockpot cook all day on low . Take out peppers and put in a bowl . Shred beef .Serve on big hoagie buns with provolone cheese and add the pepperoncinis to taste. LOVE IT !

Leave a Reply

